busy week

This week has kicked my ass thus far. I’m not complaining, I’m just tired.

Rehearsals are going well, I won’t say too much about it here but I am blogging about it on Theater J blog and will be throughout the process. Though if it’s something really interesting I’ll say it here as well.

Working on this show is demanding in many ways. The play is constantly undergoing changes and wrapping your head around what these little adjustments are and keeping track of what they do to the story has started to give me a headache. Yet, as always, it’s exhilarating to watch a new play take shape, to see how one minuscule line change can open up so much. But the demanding nature of the play is not just in the work but in the subject. To spend hours focused on the Holocaust and to see, as this play shows, how innocent God loving people are powerless when it comes to standing up for their beliefs. What if it were me? Would I have had the courage to make change? Do I now? And what is the slippery slope that gets us from where we are now to where Germany ended up? It’s truelly frightening.

With the drama of history and the drama of theater standing over me during the day at night I’ve been keeping myself busy as well. One thing I have realized about myself is that when I am over worked and tired I feel the need to push myself even more. It’s when I have loads to do at work and come to the realization that I will not have a full day off until the second week of May (except for one quick jaunt to NY to see Jarvis!), it is then, that I want to go out and be social. It’s like I need to remind myself to remember at those moments that there is life outside the theater. Last night I went to the cat and tried hard to have non-theater conversations (though I did spend just about the entire night talking about Israel). I will do the same tomorrow night as Sorted and the gorilla queers collide at the cat. Then I will roll up in bed and hopefully sleep soundly only to wake the next morning bright eyed and ready to conquer a full day of rehearsal.

One Response to busy week

  1. gwen says:

    hey there’s a typo in the j blog: you have ” the longest tile at Theater J”, i think it should be title?

    g

Leave a Reply

