R.I.P Kurt Vonnegut

The problem with waking up to the news rather than an alarm is you need to deal with depressing news before you’re even out of bed. This morning it was a duet of suicide bomb attacks in Baghdad and the news of Kurt Vonnegut’s death.

I think it was my thirteenth year when I read every Vonnegut title I could get my hands on. Cat’s Cradle is still one of my favorite books though I haven’t reread it in over 5 years, maybe it’s time again.

One Response to R.I.P Kurt Vonnegut

  1. The Older Hessel says:

    Even when I was young, I read much of what Vonnegut had written then, including Cat’s Cradle. I have never read Slaughterhouse Five, but last year on TV saw the film version, which I thought extraordinary!! It didn’t make me want to read the book, though, because I couldn’t imagine that the book could really approach the visuals. I think Vonnegut worked closely on the movie, if I recall. Slaughterhouse Five, as you know, is about the firebombing of Dresden and its aftermath in the mind of Private Billy Pilgrim, who (I think like Vonnegut himself) was there.

Leave a Reply

