one more thing to do with used books

Boing Boing pointed me to the art work of Thomas Allen. He has taken old books, cut out the cover or inside images and photographed them in very dynamic ways. His work is inventive and thrilling. Bringing the books to life. He uses mainly old pulp novels. I have my own fascination with the lost art of pulp novel covers. I have a mini collection that I hope to grow but this certainly inspires me. In used book stores I frequently come across books with interesting cover art or interior works but due to the quality (tears in the cover, crumbling pages) i pass them by. Next time maybe I’ll grab them and try my hand at making them come to life.

Check out more of Thomas Allen’s work. I’m particularly taken with the piece Stacked.

3 Responses to one more thing to do with used books

  1. germy says:

    that makes me happy.

  2. The Older Hessel says:

    For the collection, someone picked up today a paperback copy of Sven Hassel’s (clearly almost a relative) “Commando Reichsfuher Himmler”, a 30+ year old Spanish language paperback published in Barcelona with a detachable cover, just waiting to be placed in a collage. This person really splurged….paid 50 cents.

  3. gwen says:

    do you know this chick? she sells stuff at eastern market. very expensive, but loverly.

    http://rebound-designs.com/catalog/

Leave a Reply

