a theatrical life for me

As many of you know I am now in my 5th year at the J.  I started working a week after graduating from college. In college I knew I wanted to work in theater professionally. But I assumed I would end up doing something else and just doing theater in my free time. But I did it I guess, I became a theater professional and who knows if I could do anything else.

Five years is a long time and I feel like now’s the time when I have to start thinking about next steps. I don’t want to leave the J, the mission work and people all suit me very well. Working in the Jewish community is also a blessing. It’s great to know I don’t have to explain why I have to take two days off for Rosh Hashanna. But even so, 5 years is a long time. I’m not leaving but it is time to start building a plan for the next 5 years.

And speaking of a life in theater, did anyone read this series about actors lives. I must say I have such appreciation for people who work in this career. We are, each and everyone of us, insane. But what else is there to do.

One Response to a theatrical life for me

  1. sas says:

    I read that while I was visiting my parents in NY. As I read it I had the “I should point this out to them… No I shouldn’t…. Yes I should… No I shouldn’t” inner monolgue. The Roslyn Ruff one totally got to me. That’s exactly how my parents are. They are extremely supportive but they simply don’t understand why if my brother and I are taking all the steps that we theoretically should be in this biz it does not necessarily equate to consistent success and income. Who can ever really explain that. You are right, we are all insane.

Leave a Reply

