fall (into) music

there are a bunch of excellent looking concerts coming up. I know I can’t make it all. If I did I would certainly be broke. But here’s a little preview of what I am considering and thereby think you should also be considering. If you’re planning on going to see any of it let me know. Tons of videos below:

9/5-6/07: The National/The Rosebuds/Doveman @ 9:30 Club – Don’t think I’m going to make it (though I know geremy will be there). I saw The National a couple of months ago and it was an amazing show. I saw Rosebuds at some point last year and was unimpressed with them live.

9/20/07- THE MOUNTAIN GOATS, BOWERBIRDS @ Black Cat – I already have my ticket!

9/26 -27/07 RILO KILEY w/ GRAND OLE PARTY And ART IN MANILA @ 9:30 club. It’s expensive ($25) but I’ve never seen them play and I loved Jenny Lewis’s solo show last year. I bought my ticket. going to the show on the 26th.

9/27/07: Nellie McKay @ Birchmere – I’ve never seen her live but have always wanted to. I’ve always been into her mix of contemporary and standard.

10/4/07- THE BLOW @ Black Cat – I’ve seen her twice already but every time I hear her I like her more.

10/5/07 – THE BRUNETTES and FERRABY LIONHEART $10/$12 Rock and Roll Hotel – New Zealand pop music that makes me happy. Plus it’s the awesomest video of all (puppets and comics, oh my!)

10/11/07: Sunset Rubdown @ Black Cat

10/19/07: British Sea Power @ Black Cat – I’ve seen them before, they do a great live show.

10/25/07 – JENS LEKMAN @ Black Cat – ridiculously excited for this concert I am. I should get my tickets soon.

2 Responses to fall (into) music

  1. Well, here’s the list of shows you should be going to:
    Black Cat:
    Tue Sept 11- BONDE DO ROLE, PLASTIC LITTLE, EDIE SEDGWICK
    Mon Sept 17- DO MAKE SAY THINK
    Wed Sept 19- GIRL TALK, DAN DEACON, WHITE WILLIAMS
    (Remember when I was the only guy in town booking Dan Deacon. I tried and tried to tell everyone what a genius he was, but no one would listen……then)
    Sun Oct 7- MELVINS, BIG BUSINESS, Film Screening of “A Purge of Dissidents”(!!!!!!!!!!!!)\
    Fri Oct 26- BORIS and DAMON & NAOMI w/ MICHIO KURIHARA, JASON SIMON (of Dead Meadow) (This will up your hipster credentials ten fold in the stoner crowd)
    Thu Nov 15- STIFF LITTLE FINGERS (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
    Fri Nov 23- PREFUSE 73, VOICE OF THE SEVEN WOODS, BLANK BLUE

    Werd I know about these things

  2. hpmelon says:

    I may have to join you for a couple of these…

Leave a Reply

