this is what’s wrong with reading

I should be asleep. I have to be at work at 7:30 am. But I have just over a hundred pages left of Joyce Carol Oates new book The Gravediggers Daughter. I keep putting it down shutting off the light. Lying down for a couple of minutes. Turning back on the light and picking it up again. I’m hoping taking a break from this pattern and writing this post will make me not pick up the book, not turn on the light. and go to sleep. I don’t want to finish it tonight. My desire for sleep mixed with the desire to know the ending, to finish the journey will certainly lead to sloppy reading. skipping lines and words. I should finish it when I have the time to relish it. Which will not be tomorrow. What with the annual J retreat, opening night for Accident and the black cat’s 14th anniversary party (with staff bands and free admission). No reading tomorrow. the book will have to be finished Tuesday. not tonight. tonight I must sleep. OK.

Leave a Reply

