drink deep from the tap

I’ve always been an avid water drinker. Water is always my drink of choice, though not my spirit of choice. My parents got a water cooler when I was young and up until last year I would buy a bottle of water almost everyday. Last year it struck me how wasteful I was being. Even though I tucked my plastic bottles into the recycling bin, I knew I was adding to the mass of plastic taking over the world. On top of that I realized the amount of energy that went into taking the water from its source (in the case of spring water), the amount of energy for a huge corporation to purify the water that just came from a tap, the energy to transport the water around the world.  So I bought a water bottle and refill that, I use a filter in my home and I have all but stopped purchasing bottles.   The whole system of selling water seems wrong,  water should be available to free for all, and yet, it is not.  And it all makes me think that the dystopia created in Urinetown may come true.  Already corporations rule so much over who has and does not have access to water.

Today I came across and signed the Think Outside the Bottle Pledge and you should too.  Here are some reasons why from their website:

Seventy-four percent of Americans drink bottled water, and one in five drinks only bottled water.

Worldwide, consumers spent $100 billion on bottled water in 2005.

Each year more than 4 billion pounds of PET plastic bottles end up in landfills or as roadside litter.

Making bottles to meet Americans’ demand for bottled water required the equivalent of more than 17 million barrels of oil last year – enough fuel for more than 1 million U.S. cars for a year – and generated more than 2.5 million tons of carbon dioxide.

Think about it and sign by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

