todays words

I’m working on my vocabulary in an effort to rock the verbal section of the GRE (next week, ek).  I figure an extremely high verbal will mitigate what is bound to be a low math (I’m still studying hard mom, don’t worry, but I’m just being realistic). So following are the words I would like to memorize today. I’ve realized what works best for me is when I can think of them in sentences, remembering quotes from plays has been paying off. However, I’ve also discovered that it doesn’t work out as well when I make the sentence. So please blog readers, if you know some of these words put them in a sentence for me and either leave a comment with it or email.

vituperate
variegated
refulgent
sedulous
specious
recalcitrant
dissemble
redoubtable
quiescence
intransigent
impecunious
harangue
perspicacious
perfidy
ingenuous
enervate

Yesterday, i finally committed phlegmatic to memory, a word that could never stick in my head.

2 Responses to todays words

  1. natalie says:

    I (un)fortunately remember all of those words…damn. Good luck next week!

  2. germy says:

    I had the same problem with phlegmatic, and finally got it jammed in yesterday as well.

    While the perfidious politician’s harangue on immigration, rife with specious arguments, served to enervate further the increasingly quiescent opposition, he was not able to sway some intransigent and recalcitrant members of society, who perspicaciously recognized the refulgent splendor of a variegated society and the redoubtable danger inherent in his attempt to dissemble ingenuous concern for the more impecunious in society. They therefore worked sedulously to expose his vituperation of the migrant workers for the harsh abuse that it was.

    i think.

Leave a Reply

