2007 was a year and stuff happened

so, I’ve seen other blogs do their yearly roundups but I have no idea how to do it. This is my first year with blog and my first attempt so bare with this lengthly look at 2007 through the eyes of hanvnah. So I’ve decided to do some top fives. Let’s see if I can remember things.

top 5 photos i took (excluding portraits):
My Shadow and Miro SculptureDolls in Antique Shopmy boots in the mirrorpatrick's shoesTeatro-Museo Dali in Figueres

top 5 portraits i took:
Michelle in Syrian ResturantShirleynina looks angelic at brunchandi and pinballDad and Mom #6

top 5 pictures of me enjoying 2007:
IMG_1726jason and ii suck at jumping too but mark's so goodAndrea eats my head 1me on the roof of La Pedrera

top 5 personal milestones:

1. starting a blog

2. moving over to gmail (really, it changed my life)

3. deciding to apply to graduate school.

4. joining the team at Forum theatre.

5. seeing friends leave (and decide to leave) DC

top 5 albums:

I was going to do a posting on music of 2007 but I realized I bought like 3 albums this year, and due to my fear of computer instability, in my 5+ year old ibook, i have downloaded about a tenth of what i downloaded in 2006. I’ve looked at all the lists of best album of the year, found myself in a conversation about it the other day, and I realized I had no clue who half the bands are. Some music snob I am. Hopefully in 2008 I’ll do better. Of the albums I did get, here’s what I’m listening to (I left Jarvis off the list even though it came out in the states in 2007 I started listening in 2006):

1. Jens Lekman – Night Falls over Kortedala

2. The National – Boxer

3. Stereo Total – Paris <> Berlin

4. Charlotte Gainsbourg – 5:55

5. Andrew Bird – Armchair Apocrypha (thanks jeremy)

top 5 concerts:

1. The top obviously was seeing Jarvis at Webster Hall

2. Stereo Total at Rock and Roll Hotel

3. The Frames at 9:30 Club

4. Jens Lekman at Black Cat 

5. A toss up between The National at 9:30 Club and The Mountain Goats at Black Cat

Click here to see all my writing about music.

5 theater moments:

1. I’ll agree with Peter Marks for once and single out my buddy Alexander for his amazing performances all year. In particular his work in Caligula and Pangs of the Messiah.

2. The Pabst and Popcorn Hour adaptation of the tragedy of Doctor Faustus. Dan is the man. He is doing extremely inventive and exciting work as he plays around with what is theater and how can you use it as a gift. I’m looking forward to the secret show, which I think starts next week but I’m not sure since it’s still shrouded in secrecy.

3. Voices from a Changing Middle East: A Festival. The busiest I’ve ever been with XX shows in one week. It was a great experience to be looking at many sides of the issues in the middle east and interacting with our audience.

4. Peter and Wendy – I’d been waiting to see Mabou Mines production for years and it did not disappoint. The use of puppets, text and song was a thrilling way to tell a familar story. And it was nice to see and old SLC friend as lead Peter puppeteer.

5. Scenes from the Big Picture – On what may have been the hottest day in summer, I sat in an air condition-less theater, where there were more people on stage than in the audience and I went on a journey. Scenes took me from the heat and discomfort and put me in Belfast. The huge cast was excellent and it was a huge undertaking for Solas Nua,  a small company.

Click here to read about all my writing theater I have seen.

5 books read: 

1. Joyce Carol Oates: The Gravediggers Daughter

2.  Karen Armstrong: The Battle for God

3. Iris Murdoch: I think I read three Iris Murdoch books this year, continuing my quest to read them all.

4. Gershom Gorenberg: The Accidental Empire

5. George Orwell:  Homage to Catalonia

5  deaths that effected me:

1. My Uncle Sam

2. Benazir Bhutto

3. Kurt Vonnegut

4. Betty Hutton

5. Grace Paley

Click here to read all the deaths I eulogized.

top 5 food experiences:

1. Komi – Much thanks to my mother for taking me to Komi for my birthday dinner. The food was unbelievable and the experience outstanding.

2. Hush

3. Russia House – Mark and I celebrated my turning in my Columbia application with a decadent Russian meal. Though we debated laying down some money on caviar we decided to instead go with a sample of different appetizers and the sampling of house infused vodkas, our favorite was hands down the horseradish.

4. Multiple Tapas bars in Barcelona. Sitting in a noisy square late at night eating massive amounts of tapas while drinking massive amounts of wine, that is how I remember Barcelona.

5. Fresh Bread

5 best parties:

1. Post-Midnight Last Year’s New Years Party at the Ontario.
2. The spring/summer of the Black Cat. The amount of time spent in that place, with those people, dancing to those songs, yes, a time was had.

3. Helen Hayes Awards

4. My Golden Birthday Party, I turned 26 on the 26th and found that people really were willing to party on a Tuesday night.

5. Theater Parties: Forum’s Awesomely Bad Ball, Extreme Exchange Extreme Extravaganza.

5 outfits i wore:
12/87/136/26 birthday dressoutfit for mark's birthday10/4

and lastly, but not least, 5 things I look forward to in 2008:

1. Getting in to graduate school.

2. Confronting fears.

3. Keeping busy and productive.

4. Sharing good moments with good friends.

5. Getting rid of all the excess in my life.

4 Responses to 2007 was a year and stuff happened

  1. D-Money says:

    WE are doing extremely inventive and exciting work. We work collectively.

  2. hanvnah says:

    I don’t mean to ignore the whole collective of workers. It is true. There are many of you, and many of you I consider very talented people and friends. And I realize you are creating together. But from the conversations with Dan I have had about the projects I’ve grown very impressed with his views of theater and equally impressed with his ability to spearhead such a group.

  3. D-Money says:

    In general, Dan and I both have the same views on theatre. But that’s cool; I’m done with theatre anyway…….

  4. shirley says:

    WE are also working as a collective. Me and my cleavage and my appetite for wine. WE are working to take over the world, hopefully with YOU at our side, with a glass of scotch, on the rocks, and a shiny noise maker blaring all the while.

Leave a Reply

