if you want to really be depressed

go to see Breath Boom at Studio before it closes. I left the play feeling wrecked. I couldn’t stand around to say hi to my friends in the show, I felt beaten, I felt lost, I felt powerless. 

The show was extremely well done, the acting great, the set worked extremely well. But truthfully, I felt uncomfortable that there was no context for the issues. I wanted more dramaturgy!  I wanted some realization that even though we were sitting in a posh theater building watching a show the things we were seeing on stage are happening. And not just happening somewhere but everyday in this city. Happening within even a few blocks. The show was upsetting enough but not having any place to direct my feelings after felt like a real disappointment.

Leave a Reply

