things to be excited about

Today: It’s Israel’s 60th birthday, and what a crazy 60 years it’s been. Jewschool has posted the 1948 Declaration  of Independence. How close and how so far from the original ideals of the state:

THE STATE OF ISRAEL will be open for Jewish immigration and for the Ingathering of the Exiles; it will foster the development of the country for the benefit of all its inhabitants; it will be based on freedom, justice and peace as envisaged by the prophets of Israel; it will ensure complete equality of social and political rights to all its inhabitants irrespective of religion, race or sex; it will guarantee freedom of religion, conscience, language, education and culture; it will safeguard the Holy Places of all religions; and it will be faithful to the principles of the Charter of the United Nations. read the full thing

The Forward has put together a comprehensive look at the past 60 years. I have yet to read the full thing but it all looks very interesting.

In other news today, Glory Days closes on broadway directly after opening. That’s gotta hurt. I had little interest in seeing it here and didn’t expect huge things from the broadway run but it’s a little embarrassing and sad that the ‘hit’ from DC was so weak.

Tonight: I really want to go see British Sea Power at the cat. But I’m thinking I really don’t have money to be going to concerts right now and I just have to be happy watching music videos on youtube for the moment. We’ll see if I feel the same way after work today

Tomorrow: It’s Simone’s last day at the J! She’ll be around (and I’ll be leaving) but it’s sad none the less. After the goodbye happy hour we have planned I will be returning to the J to watch the dress rehearsal for DAVID.  If I didn’t have the dress rehearsal, and if I had the money to go to concerts, I would be at the Cat again for the Polvo show. I’m not that familiar with Polvo but have like what I’ve heard and have been told it will be a great show. Maybe if they haven’t gone on by the time I get out of the run I’ll come by. We shall see.

Saturday: Rorschach is having a black and white masquerade ball. I’ll be there supporting local theater. Find out more here.

Sunday: Lunch with Mamma for Mamma’s Day. And then Sunday night I WILL be going to see a concert. Radiohead! The last time I saw them perform was, if memory serves, ten years ago at the Tibetan Freedom Fest. I tried to see them maybe 5 years ago but it got rained out. praying for no rain Sunday night.

Monday: Going to see The School for Scandal at the Folger. I’ve missed the other Folger shows this season and have been pretty bummed out about it. They continually produce quality work.

Leave a Reply

