ONE DAY MORE

I’ve had this running in my head all day:

Below the jump is my goodbye letter to my coworkers, council members and the artists I’ve worked with during my time at Theater J (if I didn’t have your email I apologize, it really goes out to all):

Dear All:

 

Tomorrow is my last day at Theater J.  Over the past five years I’ve been lucky to work with wonderful people, I mean all of you.  Theater J has become a second family to me and it’s hard to believe that in a couple of days I won’t be here anymore. It has been an extremely moving experience to pack up my desk, take postcards and mementos off my wall and start saying my goodbyes.  I’m excited for the future as I move up to New York to pursue a MFA in Dramaturgy from Columbia University, but it’s still hard to say goodbye.

 

I first came to Theater J the Spring of my senior year of college. I took a week off of school to come down to DC and volunteer at the International Jewish Theater Conference. I was at the time focusing on theater and Jewish history at Sarah Lawrence and was interested in finding a way to combine my interests.  Theater J was the perfect fit. I enjoyed the conference, the theater and the people that I met.  The week after graduating, I returned to Theater J and found a home and family as excited as I was about producing new, thought provoking works that touched on our experiences as American Jews.  I have loved interacting with the audience that came to our theater and made many wonderful friends within the DC theater community.  I am also constantly impressed and stimulated by the work being done in the center. This building, of which the theater is just a fraction, provides so much to the community and is really in my mind the pinnacle of what a Jewish organization should be: open, interested, creative, provoking and providing for all who pass through the doors. Aside from saying goodbye to the people I know that it’s going to be a  difficult transition to be no longer working in a Jewish environment.

 

I am hoping that despite my being based in New York I’ll be able to remain a part of the DC theater community.  For over a year now I’ve been a company member at Forum Theater and I’m very proud at the work we have been able to do as we start to grow and gain recognition.  We are about to open a production of Marat/Sade with a brand-new score, written by fellow company member Jesse Terrill,  and I hope that those of you in the area will get the opportunity to see it.  I am also hoping to remain involved with the political theater group eXtreme eXchange and will be writing a piece for “Politically Fringe-alicious” on Sunday, July 27 at 4 pm at Woolly Mammoth Theater. 
 
I wish you all the very best and thank you for helping to make my time at Theater J so wonderful.

Hannah

Leave a Reply

