drinking in 1644

I’m sitting here at my mother’s desk drinking a Spanish chocolate elixir from 1644. or at least the recipe is from then. I bought it at an awesome chocolate house in Santa Fe. So, I’m back. I’m back. The vacation was uber relaxing which was very needed. And it was also rejuvenating to have the chance to catch up with my best friend of the past 19 years. Pictures are going up very slowly on flickr (my laptop doesn’t want to connect to my parents internet – or rather – we aren’t sure what my parent’s wireless password is – so I’m getting it where I can).

I have less than a week and a half to reorganize, repack, say goodbye and move up north. It’s all a bit overwhelming and I’m not sure where to start with any of it. Part of me wants to do everything, see everyone, have once-in-a-lifetime adventures, make this the most unforgettable week and a half of my life. The other half of me wants to curl up in bed and not leave until I move. I’m scared I guess. Not really about starting school or moving to New York. I’m excited about both of those things. But the past five years have been filled with changes for me. I’ve made so many great friends and become a part of so many wonderful communities. I know that nothing will be the same. I’m sure I won’t lose the important friendships in my life but they will shift and our lives all shift. That’s all fine and natural but it always involves giving something up and moving into the unknown. And the unknown always frightens me.

One Response to drinking in 1644

  1. germy says:

    Courage, adventurer!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

