still connected but now separated

I may be up in New York now but it’s hard to break the connection to the dc theater community. Monday was my last night in town and I spent it going to see the first preview of Jason Grote’s play Maria/Stuart at Woolly Mammouth. Since it was still in previews and has not yet officially opened I won’t talk about it to much but I really do love Grote’s writing and imagination and I do recommend it to those in the DC area.  It was a great way to say goodbye to DC, a great play, good friends and drinks at the black cat perfectly sum up the time I spent in our nations capitol.

Speaking of DC theater click over to the DCtheatrescene website before Sept 2 to vote for your favorite shows of the past year. I won’t tell you who to vote for but let me just remind you that The Last Days of Judas Iscariot absolutely rocked and if you didn’t love it you probably didn’t see it (which you can remedy in December when we bring it back!).

Also, be sure to read the article in today’s Washington Post about Synetic’s theatrical reactions to the situation in Georgia. I’m very impressed with Paata and the company for not sticking with their scheduled show and changing it up to respond to a situation that has a close impact on their lives. Isn’t that what theater should be? A medium by which we can respond to the world around us, immediate, painful or joyful? I wish I were going to be in town to see Host and Guest, sigh.

Leave a Reply

