to tweet or not to tweet, that is the question

I’ve been considering getting a twitter account for sometime now. I am simultaneously intrigued and disgusted by the phenomenon.  For those unfamiliar, with Twitter you, via phone or net, post brief updates on your life whenever you feel like it. You have a group of followers and people you follow and tidbits are shared.

The Times Magazine this weekend had an article about this constant connection that twittering, facebook and the like provides. One of his thesis in the article is that this connection is reminiscent of an older time.  Knowing what is going on in everyones lives hearkens back to small town life. Through this connection we are able to be at once widely global and intensely knowledgeable about those who surround us. It’s an interesting article and worth a read.

I am obviously, by the fact that I blog, open to sharing. As a personality I think I’ve always been happier when I don’t keep things to myself. I feel like I have very few secrets. I wouldn’t post every thought on the internet, and don’t, I wouldn’t share everything via twitter. Yet, as those who have had any type of face to face conversation with me knows I don’t feel the need to conceal. There are things that are not appropriate or kind for all ears but there is little that I keep to myself.   I think this makes me a happier person for in that sharing is a release and a trust. It enables me to have, I think, very strong friendships, and I think it also makes me a good listener, though not always a good keeper of secrets, sorry. But at least I admit that up front. Though I would never share another persons secret that again is not appropriate or would hurt another person.  And I would never share a secret over the internets, this weird badland of information.

So, what’s the downside to Twittering? The worry that people won’t follow me, that people won’t care. The worry that I would twitter drunk and maybe say things that crossed over my own line of decency? But I still write here, and yous all still read it, and it doesn’t matter if you care though I suppose if you keep coming back you do,  I have never once Blogged drunk, and my line of decency is pretty strong.

So what do you think? Should I tweet?

2 Responses to to tweet or not to tweet, that is the question

  1. blueberryfrost says:

    i twitter with kimmie, we started last week… i don’t know if this means do it, or don’t do it… it doesn’t feel like a big step [ie, getting a facebook account], it feels more like having a del.icio.us or a digg account.

    i think it might be fun when it is a small group of people or just your close friends 🙂

  2. The Older Hessel says:

    All the little birdies go tweet, tweet, tweet.

    Do I have that right?

Leave a Reply

