a week in the life of a grad student: this weeks routine

I’ve had a nice routine this past week. Today is the last day of it, though maybe it will be similar at the end of next week.

I’ve woken up around 8:30. Made some oatmeal and tea. Sat in the living room until sometime btwn 11 – 12 doing work on stuff for the Festival of Jewish Theater and Ideas and the upcoming Association for Jewish Theater Conference (this article has a really comprehensive look at the world of American Jewish Theater for those interested).

Then at some point between 11:30 and noon I leave the house and take a walk (with a little bit of running) in Central Park. I wish the running was a little bit more as I watch people go by me but I just don’t understand how people do it. After a minute of running my knees and ankles start smarting so I have to stop. It’s just too much pressure for them. At least I can walk. And walk I do. Everyday it’s been a different route getting lost in the vastness of the park. Everyday I fall a little more in love with Central Park and all the nooks and cranny’s and the way it changes around every bend.  Today I walked down to the Reservoir and circled it before making my way home.

I make sure I’m home around 1 pm and make and eat lunch while watching Anthony Bourdain on the travel channel. Today for lunch I had toast topped with Avocado and salt and a salad of cucumber, onion and radish tossed in some red wine vinegar and salt and pepper.  Yesterday I made a pasta out of garlic, radish greens, radish, onion and raisins. I like throwing things together.

I go back to the computer around 2 pm and do some more work on the Jewish Fest, Conference and the Fringe Fest in DC. I take a nap and read for a couple hours and then go off to the theater.  This week I went to a reading of a play by one of the playwrighting students at Columbia.  I’m going to be working on it next year and this was my first look at it. I’m very excited, the play, though still needing some attention, is clever, sweet, funny and heartbreaking.   I’ve had a couple more post-show discussions at the Festival (my last one is this Saturday).  Last night I was Waiting for Godot on Broadway. It was really a fantastic and engaging production. I am thrilled I got the chance to see it.

Really, this isn’t a bad life at all.

Leave a Reply

