the state that i am in

so here’s what my semester looks like:

six classes:

1. history of set design (where we look at the history and theory of design)
2. fundamentals of playwrighting: adaptation (where we look at different methods of adapting for the stage)
3.theater development (where working with a management student we design our ideal theater)
4. planning a season (where we look at the seasons of various contemporary theaters and read many a play)
5. issues in performance art (an art history course where we look at post 1960s performance art)
6. shakespeare (where we read and analyze the bard)

two jobs:

1. the Ticket and Information Center where I also worked last year. Mostly shifts in the evenings and weekends. (about 10 hr a week)
2. in the Dean of the School of the Arts office working in ‘events & communication. (about 10 hr a week)

two shows:

1. Three Sisters – the Chekhovian masterpiece.  Going up the weekend of October 16.

2. A devised Kafka piece. Don’t know what it will be called or what it will be about. All I know is starting next week the company will be meeting once a week, talking Kafka and coming up with something. I’m very excited. The production will go up in the beginning of December.

So, that’s the semester. Slightly overwhelming and terrifying. And certainly too busy for real blogging.  There may be little things here and there but really, I doubt it.

I am continuing to update the Theatre Collage blog. So please do bookmark that if you haven’t already. I post a number of things a week as I find links, quotes or images that interest and inspire. As my readings increase in the weeks to come I’m sure that I will feature quotes from books, essays and plays that I want to share.

If at any point you miss having regular blog post from me to read, or miss hearing from me, then please get in touch. I’d be happy to write you a personal blog post (they’re called emails).  And happy also to hear voices on the phone and be reminded that there is life outside of the Columbia theatre program.

2 Responses to the state that i am in

  1. natalie says:

    Ahh THREE SISTERS is my FAVORITE Chekhov. Bummer I live 12 hours away.

  2. Jenny says:

    Lies. There is no life outside of the Columbia Theater Department. 🙂

    You’ll have to tell me how the design theory class is — I really wanted to take it, but I just could not possibly fit any more into my schedule.

    Also, I’m so excited to work on the Kafka with you!

Leave a Reply

